Vince Young can claim at least one victory over Southern California this season.

The Texas quarterback was selected to The Associated Press All-America team released Tuesday, relegating USC’s Matt Leinart to second-team.

Young was runner-up in the Heisman Trophy voting to Trojans tailback Reggie Bush and was one of four Longhorns on the first team. Bush was one of three All-Americans from top-ranked USC and a unanimous first-team selection.

Young didn’t hide his disappointment when Bush won the Heisman in a landslide on Saturday night.

“This should give me a little bit more edge to show the world what a good team the University of Texas is,” he said.

Always dynamic on the move, Young proved he could be a top-flight passer this season. He leads the nation in efficiency rating (168.8) with 2,769 yards and 26 touchdown passes. He also leads the team with 850 yards rushing.

Texas offensive tackle Jonathan Scott also made the first team, along with teammates Michael Huff, who won the Thorpe Award as the nation’s best defensive back, and defensive tackle Rodrique Wright.

Wide receiver Dwayne Jarrett and safety Darnell Bing were the other USC All-Americans announced Tuesday.

Leinart was the All-America quarterback last season when he won the Heisman Trophy. This year he was third in the Heisman voting and lost out to Young for the top spot on the All-America team.

Notre Dame’s Brady Quinn was named the third-team quarterback.

USC and Texas led the way with seven players each receiving AP All-America mention.

Leinart was joined on the second team by guard Taitusi Latui. Tailback LenDale White and offensive tackle Sam Baker were on the third team.

USC has the No. 1 offense in the country, averaging 580 yards per game, and is the first team in NCAA history with two 1,000-yard rushers (Bush and White), a 3,000-yard passer (Leinart) and a 1,000-yard receiver (Jarrett).

“The special thing about our team is everybody’s able to put their egos aside and focus on the team,” Bush said.

Texas had three players on the third team – linebacker Aaron Harris, guard Will Allen and tackle Justin Blalock.

Bush was an All-American as an all-purpose player in 2004. He and Ohio State linebacker A.J. Hawk were the only players to repeat as first-teamers.

Hawk and Bush were also the only unanimous first-team selection.

Penn State’s Paul Posluszny and Alabama’s DeMeco Ryans were the other All-American linebackers. Posluszny won the Butkus Award as the nation’s top linebacker and the Bednarik Award, given to the top defensive player. Ryans won the Lott Trophy as top defensive player.

“It was a great class of linebackers this year,” Hawk said.

Hawk’s Ohio State teammate, linebacker Bobby Carpenter, made third-team.

Penn State defensive end Tamba Hali gave the resurgent Nittany Lions two All-Americans. The last time Joe Paterno’s team had multiple All-Americans was 1999, when linebackers LaVar Arrington and Brandon Short and defensive lineman Courtney Brown made the first team.

Penn State also placed offensive tackle Levi Brown and cornerback Alan Zemaitis on the second team.

Louisville’s Elvis Dumervil, who led the nation in sacks (20) and forced fumbles (10) and Oregon defensive tackle Haloti Ngata complete the All-America defensive line.

Virginia Tech cornerback Jimmy Williams and Georgia safety Greg Blue were the other first-team defensive backs.

Washington State’s Jerome Harrison, who leads Division I-A with 1,900 yards rushing, was the other first-team running back with Bush.

Oregon State’s Mike Hass, the nation’s leader in receiving yards (139.3), went from a third-team selection last season to first-team this season.

The rest of the All-America offense includes Maryland tight end Vernon Davis, Auburn tackle Marcus McNeill, Georgia guard Max Jean-Gilles, Virginia tackle D’Brickashaw Ferguson and Minnesota center Greg Eslinger.

UCLA’s Maurice Drew was the all-purpose All-American. He led the nation in punt returns (29 ypr), and returned three for touchdowns.

Colorado’s Mason Crosby is the kicker and Wake Forest’s Ryan Plackemeier is the punter.

Notre Dame had three players on the second and third teams, including Quinn. Receiver Jeff Samardzija was a second-team choice, and safety Tom Zbikowski was a third-teamer.

The Pac-10 had the most first-team All-Americans with seven. The Big 12 had five. The Southeastern Conference, ACC and Big Ten each had four and the Big East one.

The AP All-America panel is Lenn Robbins, New York Post; Chip Alexander, The News & Observer (Raleigh, N.C.); Ted Miller, Seattle Post-Intelligencer; Jenni Carlson, The Oklahoman; Ken Gordon, The Columbus (Ohio) Dispatch; Neal McCready, Mobile (Ala.) Register.

AP sports writers Greg Beacham in San Francisco; Jon Krawczynski in Minneapolis; Joedy McCreary in Jackson, Miss.; Tim Reynolds in Miami; Jim Vertuno in Austin, Texas; and Ralph D. Russo in New York.

AP-ES-12-13-05 1656EST

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.