BANGOR – The Maine Principals’ Association awarded six $1,000 scholarships to five high school seniors at its annual Honors Luncheon held on April 8 at the Spectacular Event Center.

Receiving scholarships were Mary K.B. Cox from Cape Elizabeth High School, Steven Tatko from Foxcroft Academy, Melinda Sullivan from Lisbon High School, Elizabeth Gerard from Madawaska High School and Timothy Fournier from Mountain Valley High School, Rumford. Also receiving the first annual scholarship specifically awarded to a Morse High School student in memory of Richard W. Tyler was Henry Mann.

The scholarships are given in memory of Horace O. McGowan and Richard W. Tyler. McGowan was executive secretary from 1973 to 1984 of what was known as the Maine Secondary School Principals’ Association. McGowan was a teacher, principal and a division director in the Maine Department of Education.

Tyler was principal of Morse High School in Bath from 1970 to 1984 and became executive director of the Maine Principals’ Association from 1984 to 2001.

The association, with support from Nelnet Superloan, holds the luncheon each April. The principal from a member school names a senior award recipient, who is invited to the luncheon and receives the award. The criteria include academic excellence and citizenship. Each school defines and interprets the criteria in its own school setting.

The Maine Principals’ Association is a professional association representing Maine’s kindergarten through grade 12 principals and assistant principals. The association focuses on promoting the principalship, supporting principals as educational leaders and promoting and administering interscholastic activities in grades nine to 12.