Androscoggin County recently celebrated community best practices in higher education. From the left in front are Candace Sanborn, Encompass marketing and design, special award recipient; Margaret Park, USM/LA, student advocate award; Valerie Sangill, student at Central Maine Community College, student award; Nicole Morin-Scribner, Sisters of Charity Health System, corporate leadership award; and Joan Macri, Lewiston High School, student advocate award; back, Emily Wood, USM/LA graduate, speaker at the awards luncheon; Robert Prescott, Sun Journal and CMCC graduate, student award; James Cassidy, Sisters of Charity Health System; Ben Redmond, Brann and Isaacson, USM/LA student, speaker; not pictured, Chip Morrison, Chamber of Commerce, special award.

County communities join to present education awards

LEWISTON – College for ME-Androscoggin was the host as approximately 100 community leaders paid tribute to local businesses and individuals for their work in, or on behalf of, higher education in Androscoggin County.

College for ME-Androscoggin is a regional collaborative that unites business, education, community and government partners in raising educational attainment in Androscoggin County.

The goal of the more than two dozen College for ME-Androscoggin partners is to double the number of residents in Androscoggin County who hold a college degree by the year 2015.

At a recent ceremony held in Chase Lounge at Bates College, the Corporate Leadership Award was presented to the Sisters of Charity Health System for their corporate efforts, including progressive corporate tuition reimbursement policies and customized on-site course offerings.

Student Advocate Awards were presented to Joan Macri, founder of the Lewiston High School aspirations lab and director of programs for high school students to visit colleges and take college courses for credit, and Margaret Park, who has academically counseled hundreds of students as a student adviser at the University of Southern Maine/Lewiston-Auburn College for the past 10 years.

Valerie Sangillo, enrolled at Central Maine Community College, and Robert Prescott, a graduate of the college, received student awards, honoring them for their inspiring effort, dedication and accomplishment in attaining higher education.

Chip Morrison and Candace Sanborn were recognized with special awards for their personal efforts in helping College for ME-Androscoggin promote its goals and objectives.

Jan Phillips, College for ME-Androscoggin chairwoman, believes having so many facets of the community join together for a common objective was inspiring. “It was a wonderful ‘feel good’ moment, helping us celebrate the sorts of efforts that place our collaborative and this region out ahead of the pack in promoting college aspirations and achievement,” Phillips said.

For more information, visit

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.