PARIS – Nine members of a committee to establish the county’s 2008 budget were selected at caucuses Wednesday evening.

Per state law, six of the members were elected by their peers and three were appointed by county commissioners.

The county’s towns are divided into three districts of roughly equal population, with one commissioner representing each district. Selectmen elect a member of their board to attend their district’s caucus.

At the caucus held in Lovell, Robert Heard of Porter and Russell Newcomb of Norway were elected to the committee. Commissioner Steven Merrill appointed David Knapp of Fryeburg.

In Paris, Dennis Sanborn of Oxford and Fred Henderson of Greenwood were elected. Commissioner Caldwell Jackson appointed Wade Rainey of West Paris.

At the Rumford caucus, Barbara Laramee of Mexico and Lee Holman of Hartford were elected. Commissioner David Duguay appointed Gregory Buccina of Rumford.

With the exception of Knapp, all of the members have served on the Budget Committee before.

The county is currently gathering budget requests from department heads, which will be completed no later than Oct. 9. A public hearing on the budget will be held at 6:30 p.m. Oct. 16 at the county commissioner’s office in Paris. A budget work session will take place at the same time and place Nov. 13.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.