AUGUSTA – Michael C. Parkin of Lewiston was among six nominated to the Board of Education on Tuesday by Gov. John E. Baldacci.

The other five are James A. Banks Sr. of Portland, Mabel J. Desmond of Mapleton, Philip Dionne of Brunswick, Constance Goldman of Cape Elizabeth, and Marilyn Temple Tardy of Palmyra.

Dionne is being reappointed; the other five nominees are new appointments.

“These individuals will use their leadership and experience to provide thoughtful policy advice during a critical time of change in our state education system,” Baldacci said in a statement.

“Combined, these members bring a great level of expertise, including teaching, administration and oversight of local education systems,” Baldacci said. “This array of experience, combined with lifelong commitment to the children of this state, will help guide these nominees as my plan for school administration consolidation is implemented.”

Parkin has worked at Cross Insurance in Lewiston for 31 years, where he now serves as account executive vice president and benefits manager. Previously, he had served in the Navy and Navy Reserves. Parkin is a former member of the Lewiston School Committee.

He is active in church and professional activities. Parkin received his undergraduate degree from College of the Holy Cross in Worcester, Mass.

Banks is a former small business owner, now retired. Desmond is a retired educator.

Dionne has served on the Board of Education since 1992, and is self-employed. Goldman served as a state representative from 2004 to 2006, and was an assistant professor at Saint Joseph’s College in Standish. Goldman was school superintendent of Cape Elizabeth and Gorham schools. Tardy is self-employed, and has taught in SAD 38 in Etna and SAD 23 in Carmel.

The Maine State Board of Education is authorized to act in an advisory capacity to the commissioner of education concerning laws relating to education. It also approves school construction projects asking for state aid.

Baldacci’s nominations will be reviewed by the legislative education committee and confirmed by the Senate.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.