Maine Elks installed officers recently. In front from left are Wayne Cotterly, Michael Powers, Robert Drisko, Roger Normandeau and Elizabeth Butler; back, Susan Bernier, Claris Ranger, Albert Ingraham, Philip O’Brion and Anthony Gause.

Elks foundation installs officers

CARRABASSETT VALLEY – The Maine Elks Association elected and installed its slate of officers for the 2008-2009 association year at the 79th annual state convention held at Sugarloaf on May 2 to 4.

Installed state president was Robert Drisko of Augusta Elks Lodge 964. Drisko, in his opening remarks, congratulated outgoing President Bruce Brunelle of Sanford Elks Lodge 1470 for his dedication to the principals of the order and for a successful year.

In his acceptance speech, Drisko indicated that his theme for the coming year would be “The Future Belongs to Those Who Care,” referring to the Elks involvement in many charitable endeavors. He stated that his focus this year was to increase membership and to continue the association’s fundraising efforts. He also encouraged the 12,000 Elk members across the state to continue their support of the Maine Children’s Cancer Program, the Maine Elks Diabetes-Hypertension Van and the Elks National Foundation.

Also installed as officers were: president-elect, Michael Powers, Houlton; first vice president, Roger Normandeau, Sanford; second vice president, Wayne Cotterly, Lewiston; secretary, Philip O’Brion, Farmington; treasurer, Elizabeth Butler, York; chaplain, Albert Ingraham, Wells; tiler, Susan Bernier, Bangor; administrative assistant, Claris Ranger, Farmington; and sergeant-at arms, Anthony Gause, Augusta.

Serving as installing officer was Past State President James Ferland of Presque Isle Elks Lodge 1954

For more information on the Elks, visit, or visit a local Elks Lodge.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.