CONCORD, N.H. (AP) -New Hampshire’s minimum wage increases to $7.25 Monday.

In May 2007, Governor John Lynch signed New Hampshire’s minimum wage law, raising the rate in increments from $5.15 an hour to $6.50 on Sept. 1, 2007, and then to $7.25 on Sept. 1, 2008. Prior to the law’s passage, the state’s minimum wage had not been raised in over a decade.

The latest increase puts the state ahead of the current federal rate of $6.55 an hour.

Roughly 26,500 New Hampshire workers who are at or near the minimum wage are expected to benefit from the increase.

The base rate for tipped employees who work in restaurants and motels also is going up to $3.27 per hour.


Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.