NORWAY – Incumbent Selectman Russ Newcomb won re-election to his fourth term on the Board of Selectmen Tuesday.

The 53-year-old Country Club Road resident, who said he hoped to continue his work to improve Norway services without raising taxes, was unopposed in this year’s election and was re-elected with 190 votes.

Norway voters also elected a new fire chief Tuesday. Deputy Fire Chief Dennis Yates ran unopposed for the top spot after Fire Chief Mike Mann announced his retirement from the force after several decades. Yates won the most votes in Norway, garnering 206.

Also re-elected was incumbent SAD 17 Board of Directors Stephen Cummings of Orchard Street with 185 votes. Political newcomer Timothy Ingram of Pleasant Street won the uncontested second open seat on the SAD 17 Board of Directors with 179 votes.

Incumbents Carolyn Costanzi of Parsons Drive, and Stephen Veazey of Kal Shores Road, were reelected to the Norway Memorial Library Board of Trustees, receiving a respective 194 and 167 votes.

Newcomb, a longtime active Norway politician, is a member of the Oxford County Budget Committee and was elected to serve on the Maine Municipal Association’s Legislative Policy Committee this past year.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.