DIXFIELD – The Board of Selectmen welcomed back former member Steve Donahue after his election this week. He served in the late 1990s and replaces Brad Dyer, who chose not to run again.

Norine Clarke was re-elected to a three-year term Tuesday.

During the annual reorganization of the board Wednesday, Bettina Martin was re-elected chairman and James Desjardins was elected vice chairman. He replaces Dyer.

Town Manager Eugene Skibitsky said the board also changed its regular meeting dates for the summer months to 5 p.m. on the second and fourth Wednesdays of June, July and August.

The next meeting is June 24. The board will resume its traditional second and fourth Mondays meeting nights in September.

In other matters, Skibitsky said a discussion this week with the Maine Department of Transportation and the Mexico Sewer Department determined that replacement of the Webb River Bridge will likely not begin until late November or December.

Skibitsky said although most of the cost for the multimillion-dollar bridge will be paid by the state, some of the costs must be shared with the Mexico Sewer District. Along with the bridge, a portion of Route 2 on the Mexico side will be reconstructed.

Also, the board:

• Set fee rates for projects requiring shoreland zoning permits at $25 for existing projects and $50 for new projects;

• Appointed Cheryl Dickson as the town’s newest representative to the Med-Care Ambulance board. She replaces Dan Mitchell.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.