LISBON — The Town of Lisbon celebrated and honored volunteers and municipal staff at the first ever Night of Appreciation event, held on April 8 at the Holy Trinity Church.

Spaghetti and meatballs with salad, bread and dessert was provided to all in attendance. The event recognized close to 200 people from the community.

Town Manager Steve Eldridge and councilors Fern Larochelle and Gina Mason were on hand to recognize and present awards to the honorees.

Community awards, presented from solicited nominations, included: The People’s Choice Award, to Faye Brown for her many years of service with beautification of Lisbon and the Green Thumb Gang; Business Person/Business of the Year, to Kris Cornish of Drapeau’s Costumes of Maine; Customer Service Award, Roger’s Insurance Company; Nonprofit/Community Service Leadership, Lisbon Area Christian Outreach; Volunteer of the Year, Dot and Al Smith for their service with the Lisbon Historical Society.

The Beaver Park Family of the Year Award was presented to the Ayotte Family and Aubuchon Hardware and Maine Recycling were recognized for their support of the L.E.A.D. program.

Many employees were also recognized for years of service. Police Chief David Brooks received a standing ovation when he was recognized for 35 plus years of service, with special recognition for the many administrative roles he has held.

Another standing ovation was given to Roger Goyette, the Employee of the Year. Goyette was nominated by his family for the 25 years of service he has given to the town. He received this award on the eve of his retirement.

The other nominated employee award was presented to Marcey Croskill as the Part-time/reserve Employee of the Year. Croskill works for the Recreation Department and takes an instrumental role with the planning and introduction of new programs.

The following employees were also recognized with department awards: Public Works presented to Roger Goyette; Solid Waste, Gerard Robitaille; Town Office, Brenda Martin; Sewer Department, Ora Madden; and Police Department, Charles White.

The following employees were recognized for years of service: 30 years, Thomas Stanton Sr. and Dan Michel; 25 years, Denise Bowie, Verla Brooks, Roger Goyette, Ora Madden, Bernie McAllister, Richard St. Amant, Elwood “Buttons” Beal Jr., Harry Moore Jr; 20 years, Darla Ayer, David Judd, Twila Lycette, Diane Nadeau, Geri Woods; 15 years, Wayne Ricker, Mark Stevens, Scott Stewart, Darin Estes, Pauline Mathieu, Charles White.

Also, 10 years, Jeffrey Cooper, Michael Cote, Cynthia Medlen, Mark Bingelis, Jeffrey Picard, Jason St. Pierre, William Tapley, Daniel Turcotte; 5 years, Kathleen Bailey, Leo Bolduc, Joanne Campbell, Duane Conant, Duncan Daly, Troy Douglass, Leland Gamache, Shawn Kelly, Ryan Leighton, Ryan McGee, Eva Noddin, Dan Poisson, Sherry St. Amant, Jeffrey Beganny, Renee Bernard, Mark Caron, Sandra Crane, Steve Dickinson, Robert Duquette Jr., Anita Fournier, Sean Galipeau, Mark Jones, Nina Kidwell, Jamey Martin and Gerard Robitaille.

Also recognized were the 120 plus people that volunteer their time on the many boards, committees and commissions for the town. Those groups included the Budget Advisory Board, Library Governing Board, Planning Board, Board of Appeals, Conservation Commission, Recreation Committee, Trails Commission, Technology Committee, MTM Board of Directors, Ethics Panel, Beautification (Town Gardens), Revolving Loan Fund, Revitalization Committee, Promotions Committee, Design Committee and the Moxie Festival Committee.

To become involved with the Lisbon community, contact Jody Durisko at 353-3000, ext. 102, [email protected] or Rosie Bradley at 353-3000, ext. 122, [email protected]

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.