LEWISTON — Celebrating Excellence is the theme for the Androscoggin County Chamber of Commerce’s 122nd annual meeting and awards banquet Thursday, Jan. 27. Numerous organizations and individuals will be honored for their significant contributions to Androscoggin County communities.

The event begins at 5 p.m. at the Ramada Conference Center in Lewiston with chamber board Chairwoman Susan Stacey of Central Maine Community College serving as master of ceremonies.

The Business Leadership Award for a larger company will be presented to the Walmart Distribution Center and its general manager, Cathlin Foster. The distribution center is one of the largest development projects in Maine in the last decade, and the award recognizes its significant impact on Lewiston- Auburn employment.

The Business Leadership Award for a smaller company will go to Cassiel’s Salon and Spa. Owner Diane Dubois has overcome a series of obstacles, but she has persevered and continuously expanded her business to one of the largest of its kind in the area, according to the chamber.

The prestigious Ray Geiger Award will be presented to Peter Murphy of Neokraft Signs for his support for and leadership of the chamber. After seven years on the Board of Directors, including a term as chairman, he is now co-chairman of the Regional Image Committee.

Recipients of the Community Service Leadership Award will be three local banks that have collaboratively started a scholarship challenge to support students at USM’s Lewiston-Auburn College. Mechanics Savings Bank, Auburn Savings Bank and Androscoggin Bank put up $24,000 to match like amounts for scholarships to students in need at LAC.

The Turner Business Award will be presented to Accidental Anomalies and Jon Randall, the firm’s president. Accidental Anomalies builds custom staircases and handrails to fit clients’ specifications.

The Poland Business Award will go to Poland Spring Inn and Resort owner Cyndi Robbins. For almost a century Poland Spring Inn and Resort has been a major tourist destination in central Maine. Recently the resort developed a major new golf practice facility and miniature golf course as well as Cyndi’s Dockside Restaurant.

Paul Badeau of the Lewiston-Auburn Economic Growth Council will receive the Public Service Leadership Award. He was the architect and the major force behind the “L/A It’s Happening Here” campaign and recently developed the new Launch L-A initiative.

The Education Award will be presented to Southern New Hampshire University, which worked with Central Maine Community College on development of an MBA program in the Lewiston-Auburn area.

The Cool Chamber Award, which is presented to an organization or individual that has made a significant difference in reducing energy usage and preserving resources, will go to Jim Wellehan and Bruce Damon. They have been active in support of local community conservation programs.

Recipient of the Ken Additon Small Business Advocate award will be Women, Work and Community for their pioneering work in developing new entrepreneurs in the communities.

There will be two winners of the prestigious President’s Award.

The first will go to The Bread Shack and owner Dara Reimers for her development of a “destination bakery” in Auburn. The second President’s Award will go to Jim Day and Nick Glicos, the new owners of Martindale Country Club.

The annual meeting program also includes recognition of new members, as well as past and present Chamber leaders.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.