PORTLAND — NEWS 8 earned its sixth regional Edward R. Murrow Award in the past four years from the Radio-Television News Directors Association.

WMTW-TV and WMTW.com were named for their continuing pursuit of excellence in journalism.

The Radio Television Digital News Association Murrow Award winners must exhibit the pursuit of excellence that Edward R. Murrow set as the standard for radio and television broadcast news.

NEWS 8 and WMTW.com’s region includes all smaller market television stations and web sites in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont.