As the students entered Muskie Auditorium, the MVHS jazz ensemble played. The assembly began with the Pledge of Allegiance and National Anthem sung a capella by Mariana DeRoche, Heather Durfee, Jamaica Ford, Alexa Fryover, Morgan Gordon, Victoria Gordon, Ashleigh Milligan, Adele Oswald and Leah Perry.

Katie Billings, president, and Cam Welch, vice president, thanked the faculty council for their work in nominating the new members. They introduced chapter officers and summarized the service projects, including a food drive for the local food pantry, the book drive and school supplies for the “I Care” bags. Inside the school, the members led a recycling project and tutored other students.

Billings, who serves as the public relations officer at the state level, highlighted the recent state convention. “The theme of this year’s convention was ‘finding the best in yourself,’” Billings said. “One way the state NHS demonstrated this was through our service projects. Statewide, we collected more than 6000 books for World Wide Book Drive, more than 200 ‘I care bags’ for elementary school students and blankets for Project Linus.”

Newly-elected Maine NHS secretary Garrett Carver said, “Leadership is a trait that NHS stands for. A true leader must want to lead, desire to help others, direct and organize events, desire to provide a good example, and desire to listen to others and promote collaboration.”

The NHS chapter recognized the following staff members for their service to the chapter: Matt Gilbert, Jim Aylward, Debra Buotte, Chris Decker, Craig Dilman, Mary Gamble, Tami Jamison, Peggy LaPointe, Donna Peare, Michael Prescott and Lorraine Tanguay. Each received a carnation.

Next, faculty and staff members who became NHS members previously joined the current NHS students on the stage.

Kyle Gauvin read a poem, “The Oyster.” The poem describes an oyster with a grain of sand under its shell. The oyster endures pain and hardship and the result is a beautiful pearl.

Current NHS students reviewed each of the four characteristics of an NHS member. Billings discussed scholarship, Cody Smith explained service, Jamaica Ford talked about character and Samantha Glover concluded with leadership.

For the tapping ceremony, a current member walked out into the audience and announced the name of a nominee. The nominee was escorted to the stage and draped with an NHS sash.

The induction ceremony will be at 2 p.m. Sunday, May 6, in the Muskie Auditorium.

The new NHS members include Rachel Averill, Shawn Bennett, Andrew Boucher, Kellie Dyment, Chelsea DeRoehn, Taylor Dickson, Nathan Fitzpatrick, Chandler Gallant, Makenzie Gallant, Victoria Giberson, Devarae Gurney, Ellie Hall, Ryan Nicols, Jonathan Petrie, Abbey Pinkham, Katie Puiia, Joshua Rainey, Mariah Witas and Kasey Zadakis.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: