Members of Maine’s political parties will select their candidates at the polls Tuesday, June 12.

Polls for Maine’s 2012 primary are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

In Lewiston and Auburn, voters in Maine’s three organized parties — Republican, Democrat and Green — will be able to vote in the traditional polling places.

In Lewiston, residents in Ward 1 and Ward 3 vote at the Lewiston Memorial Armory, 65 Central Ave.

Lewiston’s Ward 2 residents should go to the Montello School, 407 East Ave. Ward 4, Ward 5 and Ward 7 residents vote at the Multi-Purpose Center, 145 Birch St. Ward 6 residents vote at the Elk’s Lodge, 1675 Lisbon Road.

All five voting locations will be open for Auburn voters as well. Auburn’s Ward 1 voters go to the Washburn School, 35 Lake Auburn Ave.; Ward 2 voters go to Auburn Middle School, 38 Falcon Drive; Ward 3 voters go to Auburn Hall, 60 Court St.; Ward 4 voters go to Fairview School, 397 Minot Ave.; and Ward 5 voters go to Sherwood Heights School, 32 Sherwood Drive.

Independent voters not currently enrolled in one of the three parties can enroll in a party at the polls Tuesday in both cities. Members of political parties cannot switch parties today, however.

[email protected]

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: