LEWISTON — Museum L-A has received a Voluntary Response Action Program Certificate of Completion for environmental cleanup at the site of its future home at 1 Beech St. The property sits along the Androscoggin River and borders Simard-Payne Park.
The Maine Department of Environmental Protection has accepted the findings of the reports submitted by Summit Environmental Consultants as to the asbestos, petroleum and lead-based paint removal. The certificate confirms completion of work that was required to make the building ready to be reused and redeveloped into the future Museum L-A.
“The work completed gives us a completely green site to move forward with,” said Museum L-A executive director Rachel Desgrosseilliers. “This process took more time than anticipated due to an inadequate bridge that prevented construction vehicles from accessing the section of Beech Street where the future museum is located — but we got it done!”
The mill building and its location between the Androscoggin River, one of the power canals, and Simard Payne Park provides an opportunity for the museum to showcase the driving force behind the industrial development of the City of Lewiston and serve as a catalyst to current revitalization efforts. Museum L-A purchased the building and land from Miller Industries in 2009 and invited the community to celebrate the paying off the mortgage with a bonfire in April 2010.
During a site assessment completed in 2008 under a USEPA Targeted Brownfields Assessment, asbestos and lead-based paint were determined to be present within the building. Summit developed a work plan to remove the lead-based paint, asbestos and do some systematic demolition to access these items.
“Museum L-A’s redevelopment of the Camden Yarns Mill is a true highlight of our Brownfields program,” said Brian Beneski, Brownfields project manager for the Maine Department of Environmental Protection. “Museum L-A has been able to save a historic building, which most would have long ago given up on, and will return it to being a vibrant part of the community. Once construction is completed, the museum will have a permanent home that will provide for their future needs and become a point of pride for the community. The dedication, hard work and leadership shown by the staff at the museum, the City of Lewiston, Summit Environmental and Benchmark has made this an exceptional project.”
The VRAP certification completes a four-year effort to prepare the site for redevelopment.
The original building was constructed in 1864 as one of Lewiston’s earliest cotton mills. It was the second of two mill buildings known as The Lewiston Mills. From 1939 to 1992 the site produced and shipped yarn products and was later used as storage. In December 1945 a spectacular fire that burned for four days destroyed the top two floors. Plans are for the third floor to be reinstated in the future.
Museum L-A’s re-location to the Beech Street location is considered to be a catalyst to the downtown revitalization and a key component of the City of Lewiston’s Riverfront Island Master Plan. In the meantime, Museum L-A will continue to offer exhibits, programs and special events at its current location in the Bates Mill Complex, 35 Canal St.

Comments are no longer available on this story