Following a week of fun-filled games for youth hockey players, Thursday was a day of championship games, awards, prizes, and an open skate.

After awards were given to winning and runner-up teams, special awards were presented to deserving players and coaches for their outstanding play and sportsmanship.

The Black Bears visted the tournament before they headed to Boston to play a weekend set of games against Hockey East rival Northeastern University.

The team, coaches, and staff offered the Twin City Titans an opportunity to meet players and coaches, get autographs, and take pictures.

The smiles could not be wider for both the Titan players and family members as well as the Black Bears, all of whom remember their days of playing as youngsters in tournaments just like the Lion’s Tournament. Assistant captain Mark Anthoine played in the Lion’s Tournament not too long ago.

He grew up in Lewiston and shared his fond memories of playing for the local youth hockey program and St. Dom’s before playing for Maine.

Winners of the tournament and special awards were:

Mites Division Champions: Titans Mite White

Squirt Division Champions: Titans Squirt Orange

Peewee Division Champions: Lac Megantic Peewees

Bantam Division Champions: Titans Bantam Orange

Bob Gladu Award (best defensive player): Mackenzie Zashut

Fern Cloutier Award (best coach): Mike Mathieu

Sportsmanship Awards given by the Twin City Titans: Peyton Dyer, Blake Springer, Benjamin Griffith, and Mason Aube

Scholarships given by the Maine Referee Association: Brody Emond, William Levasseur, Ryan Laferriere, Travis Morin, Nate Jones and Dylan


filed under: