AUGUSTA — The Maine Legislature on Wednesday celebrated the state’s large population of Franco-Americans during a ceremony at the State House.

The 13th annual event featured the induction of seven more Mainers into the state’s Franco-American Hall of Fame.

The inductees included Mary Rice-DeFosse of Lewiston, Leo Pepin of Augusta, the Rev. Ron Labarre of Biddeford and Gene Perreault of Madawaska. Posthumously inducted into the hall of fame were Cecille Dufour Pozzuto of Madawaska, Richard Dutremble of Biddeford and Joe Plamondon of Biddeford.

The inductees were honored with sentiments that were read by lawmakers from their areas on the floor of the Maine House of Representatives.

The presentation of the colors was conducted by Franco-American Post 31 of Lewiston while the national anthems of France, the U.S. and Canada were sung by Melanie Saucier of Fort Kent.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: