The Sonic Explorations group from the University of Maine at Augusta presents a program of striking contrasts across a wide spectrum of contemporary music. With a unifying theme of celebrating the out-of-the-ordinary, the group’s repertoire includes music ranging from Thelonious Monk, Ornette Coleman, Esperanza Spalding, and Earle Brown to Aretha Franklin, Sonic Youth, the Dirty Projectors, and Snarky Puppy.

Group members include Christine McCormick and Dorie Barnes (vocals), Jared Wilkinson (guitar and vocals), Frank Tutwiler (guitar), Matt Knight (bass), Todd Richard (drums), and Richard Nelson (director, guitar).

Admission is free but donations will be accepted and split between the nonprofit Harlow Gallery and UMA music department.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: