KINGFIELD — Ski Museum of Maine’s Great Ski & Sport Shop Raffle is ongoing.

Ski and sport shops throughout Maine have pitched in to help the museum promote awareness of Maine’s skiing history and raise funds for museum projects. Nine shops have donated gift certificates totaling over $1,000 for a winter raffle.

Tickets are $5 each, five for $20 or 15 for $50.

Raffle tickets can be purchased online at

The drawing will be held following the 30th annual Carter’s Last Stand, a ski race held on New Year’s Day at Carter’s X-C Ski Center in Bethel that will benefit the Ski Museum this year.

Dave Carter, who will be inducted into the Maine Ski Hall of Fame on Oct. 24, sadly passed away earlier this year. Dave’s wife, Anne, will be honoring his memory and contributions to the sport of Nordic skiing by continuing to hold the race he established in 1985.

Raffle ticket holders need not be present to win.

October events

The Fall Festival will be held from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 11. The Ski Museum will display artifacts and vintage photographs from the Oxford County region at the Ski Depot on the Skiway Road in Newry.

On Saturday and Sunday, Oct. 11-12, from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m., the Ski Museum’s traveling exhibit will be on display in Sugarloaf’s Base Lodge. Members of the museum board of directors will be on hand to share conversation and Maine ski memories along with information about the history of the museum.

The Maine Ski Hall of Fame Induction Banquet will be held Friday, Oct. 24, at Lost Valley, Auburn. Eight Mainers who have made significant contributions to skiing and snowboarding will be honored.

Included in the class of 2014 are a pied piper of cross-country skiing, a longtime college ski coach, a pioneering snowboarder, a big mountain skier who made many first descents, a pair of Olympic alpine ski racers and a Paralympic mono-skier.

This year’s esteemed inductees include: Dave Carter, Philip “Brud” Folger, Nikki Pilavakis-Davoren, Bill Briggs, Carl Burnett, Tom Gyger, Rob Parisien and Anna Parisien-Levins.

The Hall of Fame was formed in 2003 to recognize those who have brought distinction to Maine skiing and snowboarding or made significant contributions to the sports. They may include competitors, coaches, instructors, ski patrollers, ski area builders, managers and volunteers. With the Class of 2014, the number of honorees will reach 105.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.