Maine Community Foundation’s Androscoggin County Committee has made awards from two scholarship funds it manages.

Brianna Wilson of Lewiston received the Lydia R. Laurendeau Scholarship. A graduate of Lewiston High School, Wilson is attending Bates College where she is majoring in biology.

The scholarship honors Lydia R. Laurendeau (1918–1986), who lived most of her life in Lewiston and promoted education at every turn. The scholarship provides support for young women who are graduating from Lewiston High School or St. Dominic Regional High School and are pursuing post-secondary education in either science or engineering at a four-year university. Preference is given to applicants demonstrating a connection to their Franco-American heritage.

The committee also awarded ten Annette M. Brown Scholarships to Androscoggin County residents: Bethany Taylor of Wales; Jacob Bergeron, Joey Morissette, Joseph Berry, Linsey House, Shannon Jones, and Timothy Duchette of Lewiston; and Kennedy Hubbard, Michael Cloutier, and Robert Cloutier of Auburn.

Annette M. Brown was a teacher in the Lewiston-Auburn area in the early 1900s. In her 1916 will, she left $16,000 to establish a scholarship fund for needy students. Since then, the fund has given thousands of dollars to Androscoggin County students pursuing higher education. Today, the fund provides support to residents of Androscoggin County pursuing a post-secondary degree at a two- or four-year college and prioritizes those planning on attending one of the many colleges in Androscoggin County.

A statewide organization, the Maine Community Foundation has been working with donors and educators since 1983 to provide Maine students with access to educational opportunities. For more information, visit All are encouraged to apply for scholarships.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.