NEWRY — The Newry Withdrawal Committee will meet at 6:30 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 20, at the Town Office, town Administrator Loretta Powers said Tuesday.

It will be the first official meeting since Jim Sysko was elected chairman on Nov. 5. Other members are resident Bill Andrews, SAD 44 director Bonnie Largess and Selectman Brooks Morton.

Newry’s withdrawal process began after Sysko circulated a petition, citing the large amount of money Newry pays to SAD 44 and the quality of education their students receive.

Newry voters decided Sept. 24 to continue the multistep withdrawal process.

Newry joined the district in 1965. Its assessment for this fiscal year is nearly $3 million. SAD 44’s budget is $10.56 million. Powers said the town has about 25 students who attend SAD 44 schools.

The other district towns are Bethel, Greenwood, Woodstock and Andover, which is withdrawing from the district effective July 1, 2015.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.