POLAND — Incumbents ruled the day in the three-way race for two seats on the Board of Selectmen on Friday, Town Clerk Judy Akers said.

Janice Kimball received 115 votes and Stanley Tetenman got 84 to edge out challenger William “Bill” Eldridge, who polled 80 votes.

Voters also elected Melanie Harvey and Scott Sawyer to the Regional School Unit 16 board, Harvey for a two-year term and Sawyer for a three-year term. Harvey received 124 votes, Sawyer 129.

A second three-year term on the school board remains unfilled. There were no candidates on the ballot. There were several write-in votes and Akers said a decision on who will fill the third seat is in the hands of selectmen.

Leonard Lamoreau, with 135 votes, was elected to a two-year term on the Budget Committee. Lionel Ferland Jr., with 153 votes, was elected to a three-year term on the Budget Committee.

Erland Torrey received 21 write-in votes for the third opening on the Budget Committee and, according to Akers, he has indicated he is willing to serve.

Valerie Jones, with 140 votes, was elected to a three-year term on the Ricker Library Board of Trustees.

A total of 172 residents cast votes, a considerable increase from last year when only 100 voters came out, Akers said.

The annual town meeting commences at 9 a.m. Saturday, April 4, in the Poland Regional High School auditorium.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.