FARMINGTON — Seventeen University of Maine at Farmington students have been named Michael D. Wilson Scholars for the 2014-15 academic year. This prestigious undergraduate research program provides funding and faculty mentorship to top UMF student scholars as they pursue the highest level of undergraduate research investigation.

The UMF Wilson Program names student awardees twice-a-year. They are supported at every stage of their research by faculty mentors who work one-on-one with their students — providing sponsorship, guidance with proposal development and research methodology, and continuing assistance with pre-professional and post graduate opportunities.

This year’s Wilson Scholars will present the results of their original research at the annual Michael D. Wilson Symposium, a free and open-to-the-public, university-wide spring showcase of UMF student research and creative achievements.

UMF’s 2014-15 Wilson Scholars are: Darrian Church of Farmington, Kimberly Clark of Farmington, Curtis Cole of Winthrop, Austin Hayes of Gorham, William Jennings of Farmington, Nicholas Lacasse of Farmington, Nathaniel Libby of Lincoln, Shannon McCaffrey of Kingfield, Tyler Michaud of Madison, Kelsey O’Connor of Carnation, Wash., Sam Oppenheim of Acton, Mass., Katelynn Orcutt of Farmington, Donald Osthoff of Stockton Springs, Kellie Sanborn of Gray, Philip Smith of Farmington, Alexander Stevens of East Winthrop and Kiera Timme of Farmington.

The Wilson program provides funding to help underwrite student project expenses. It was established by Michael and Susan Angelides, of Columbia, Conn., in honor of their good friend and UMF alumnus Michael D. Wilson, class of 1976.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.