AUGUSTA — The New Vineyard Public Library Board of Trustees were honored as a recipient of a Governor’s Award for Service and Volunteerism as the 2015 Outstanding Nonprofit Volunteer Program by the Maine Commission for Community Service.

On April 21, at the Hall of Flags at the Statehouse in Augusta, The event, hosted by several state dignitaries and First Lady Ann LePage on April 21 at the Hall of Flags at the Statehouse, celebrated six award winners from different volunteer categories with formal introductions, a plaque, a special poster created just for them as well as several other gifts and commendations.

The New Vineyard Public Library Board was represented at the ceremony by current members Vice President Betsy Turcotte, Suzee Woods, Treasurer Richard Woods, Gary Bestwick, Secretary Glenda Hargreaves, Richard Hargreaves, President Barbara Toner and recent retirees, Bruce Turcotte and Dinah Kidd. Board members unable to attend were Pat Maki and Becky Sweeney. Also in attendance was Librarian Sandra Bestwick.

In August 2014, a newly renovated library building was dedicated thanks to the work of the Board of Trustees and many other community volunteers. The “old” library was over-flowing with inventory and there was not enough space to increase programming or technology. The new library boasts an array of five computer stations and space for a variety of programs as well as room for expanding inventory and quiet reading or study.

The Board of Trustees continue their dedicated support of the library by volunteering hundreds of hours serving as Saturday-morning-librarians, planning programs, helping with special events, facility maintenance and fund-raising to keep the library running and growing to meet the needs of the community.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.