JAY – Emilly LaFleur of Jay, Maine, a senior at Spruce Mountain High School, has been selected to receive the 2015 Principal’s Award, Principal Thomas Plourde announced recently.

The award, sponsored by the Maine Principals’ Association, is given in recognition of a high school senior’s academic achievement and citizenship. Emilly is the daughter of Robert and Christine LaFleur of Jay. She is self-motivated, dedicated to her school and community and is extremely deserving of this award.

Emilly has challenged herself academically throughout her high school career while participating in several extra-curricular offerings at Spruce Mountain High School. She is an active member of the National Honors Society, four-year member of the Spruce Mountain High School theater program, as well as an active member of the student council. Emilly is a wonderful representative of SMHS, and we are proud to recognize her as the well-deserving recipient of the 2015 MPA Principals’ Award.

Emilly, Thomas Plourde, and other award winners and their principals attended an Honors Luncheon at the Spectacular Event Center in Bangor on Saturday, April 7, 2015. The Honors Luncheon recognizes these outstanding students with the presentation of an individual plaque and the award of five $1,000 scholarships in the names of Horace O. McGowan and Richard W. Tyler. Mr. McGowan and Mr. Tyler were former Maine principals and executive directors of the association. The Principal’s Award is presented in more than 100 Maine public and private high schools by member principals of the MPA, the professional association which represents Maine’s school administrators.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.