FARMINGTON — Regional School Unit 9 directors voted Tuesday by secret ballot to elect Jennifer Zweig-Hebert of Starks and Yvette Robinson of Farmington to lead the 16-member school board this year.

The district serves 10 towns in Franklin, Kennebec and Somerset counties. All but Starks and Vienna are in Franklin County.

Directors nominated two sets of candidates for chairwoman and vice chairwoman. The other nominations were Betsey Hyde of Temple for chairwoman and Angela LeClair of Wilton for vice chairwoman.

Previous Chairman Mark Prentiss of Industry, who served five years, did not seek re-election. Industry gave him a six-month extension to serve on the board until a new budget is passed. When he made the announcement at a recent board meeting, he said that did not mean he was willing to be chairman during that time.

Director Claire Andrews of Farmington had served several years as vice chairwoman until after Tuesday’s election. She remains on the board.

The board decided to elect the chairwoman and vice chairwoman by secret ballot. Business Manager Kris Pottle counted the paper ballots.

After the election, the audience gave Prentiss and Andrews a standing ovation for their service. Both said they appreciated the opportunity to lead the board and had learned a lot. Among their accomplishments were seeing the district through building two schools and hiring a new superintendent.

[email protected]

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.