DIXFIELD — The Dixfield Dirigo Alumni Association held its annual banquet on June 28 in the community center at Dirigo High School.

One hundred thirteen members and guests attended and enjoyed the annual potluck supper. Several choices of food and desserts were available.

Albert Spaulding, class of 1942, was honored for his contributions to Dixfield over the years. He is currently active in the alumni and Dixfield Historical Society. He was accompanied by his children, Alan, Forrest, Laurie Marquis, Pam Newton; grandson Aaron; and great-granddaughter Alexis, a 2015 Dixfield graduate.

The community room was decorated in Dixfield’s colors of blue and white. The centerpieces were clear glass with blue and white flowers, creatively made by Valerie (Murphy) Scott, class of 1972.

President Charlene (Reynolds) Farrell, class of 1962, opened the business meeting with a moment of silence for seven of the deceased members, David Witham, class of 1966; Meredith Morse, class of 1956; Edith (Williamson) Brown, class of 1951; Robert Phillips, class of 1955; Richard Miller, class of 1954; Barry Smith, class of 1961; and Ronnie Miller.

Cindy Lane, class of 1968, was honored and presented a blue and white corsage for her many years as alumni secretary. Due to the terms of service in the by-laws, she has had to resign the office. She will now become the alumni historian.

Tours throughout the high school were offered to all members.

The Dixfield Historical Society set up a table with displays of books, yearbooks and memorabilia of Dixfield.

Joy Swan signed and sold her recently published book, “Aunt Suzy’s Boarding House,” her story of growing up in Weld.

This year the Classes of 1955 and 1965 were honored.

Honored classmates and guests from the Class of 1955 attending were Terry Holman, Laura (Charity) Welch, Doris (Nila) Knox Martineau, Gary Miller, Warren Smith, Judy (Hawkes) Theriault and Lyle (Bob) White.

Honored classmates and guests from the Class of 1965 attending were Vawn (Mingo) Daley, Lorraine (Gordon) McLennan, Janice Merrill, Cheryl Martin, Barbara (Virgin) Gilman, Donna (Collins) Towle, Paul Kidder, James and Jerald Fish, Robert Taylor, Betty (Wilson) Calden, Ronald and Ronald Cote, Warren Dorr and Judy Horne.

Officers for next year are Charlene (Reynolds) Farrell, president; Pam (Spaulding) Newton, Class of 1967, vice-president; Valerie (Murphy) Scott, Class of 1972, secretary; and Gayle (Gagnon) Davis, treasurer.

The 50/50 jackpot was won by Sandra (Young) Fowler.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.