OXFORD — Incumbent Selectman Scott Owens and former Selectman Floyd Thayer won seats on the Board of Selectmen during annual town election Tuesday night.

Thayer received the most votes with 250 votes. Owens garnered 227 votes.

“I’m happy that I won tonight,” said Thayer, who previously served on the board for 12 years and was an 11-year member of the Planning Board as well as a member of the Budget Committee. “I’d like to thank the people who voted for me. I’ll do the best that I can.” 

Five candidates were running for two open seats on the Board of Selectmen. The seats currently held Owens and James Goforth — who opted not to seek re-election — were challenged by Thayer, Dana Dillingham, Mark Blaquiere and Joan Quinn.

Blaquiere receoved 162 votes; Dillingham, 152; and Quinn, 74.

Owens could not be reached for comment.

Voters returned longtime School Administrative District 17 Director Ron Kugell to the board of directors with 347 votes and Director Stacia Cordwell with 323 votes.

Voters also elected Thomas Kennison to a three-year term on the Water District with 388 votes.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: