DIXFIELD — The Dixfield/Dirigo Alumni Association held its annual banquet June 25 in the community center at the Dirigo High school. There were 120 people in attendance.

Members came from as far away as California and Montana to enjoy the potluck and meeting. The room was decorated in the Dixfield colors of blue and white. Tours of the school were offered to members wanting to see how the school has changed and grown over the years.

Jon Holmes, Class of 1963, was the year’s honoree. He was honored for his many contributions to the town of Dixfield and Dirigo High School. He is an active member of the alumni association as scholarship chairman. His son Scott Holmes and his former football coach and good friend, Ken Perrone, regaled the crowd with funny, heartfelt and interesting stories about Jon.

This year, the classes of 1966 (celebrating its 50th reunion), 1956 (60th) and 1946 (70th) were honored, and all years had members present. The oldest attending alumni was Muriel McAuley from the Class of 1940, who celebrated 76 years. The Class of 1966 had a class reunion on that day and gave a short presentation. They also awarded a $1,000 scholarship to Jessica Carrier of Peru.

President Charlene Farrell, Class of 1962, opened the business meeting with a moment of silence for this year’s deceased members and by thanking Dirigo students Samuel Holmes, Ana Scott and Kayia Martin for their help serving the guests and taking photos. Reports were given by the scholarship and membership chairpersons and the treasurers and secretaries reports were read. T.J. Frost spoke about the benefit of having received one of last years scholarships and Jon Holmes read thank-you cards received from Sela Smith and Tymeka Cheadle.

Thanks to the memberships dues and generous donations, the alumni association was able to award seven $1,000 scholarships and a $1,500 scholarship from the Cote family in memory of Wilbur and Alfreda Cote.

Winning gift baskets were Sue Holmes, Amy Arsenault Chasson and Ronnie Bell. The 50/50 winner was Carol Arsenault Foley.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.