DIXFIELD — The Maine Department of Education has approved an agreement for Canton, Carthage, Dixfield and Peru to withdraw from Regional School Unit 10 and a plan to form a new district, according to Withdrawal Committee member Natalie Sneller.

An informational meeting is scheduled for 6 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 20, at Dirigo Elementary School to provide voters with information about the issue.

Residents in the four towns will vote on the reorganization plan in November.

Other informational meetings are set for:

* Oct. 11 at the Canton Town Office;

* Oct. 13 at Dirigo Elementary School, Peru;

* Oct. 17 at the schoolhouse, Carthage; and

* Oct. 18 at Dirigo High School, Dixfield.

All sessions begin at 6 p.m.

The four towns once formed SAD 21, which merged with SAD 43 in Rumford and SAD 39 in Buckfield under the state-mandated school consolidation in 2011.

The other eight towns in RSU 10 are Rumford, Mexico, Byron, Roxbury, Buckfield, Sumner, Hartford and Hanover.

The withdrawal effort began more than a year ago when residents said they believed reforming their district would lower costs.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.