FARMINGTON — Franklin Community Health Network awarded its 2016 Community Health Leadership Award to Roger Wells, director of security at Franklin Memorial Hospital, during Monday’s annual meeting.

Wells, of Wilton, was recognized as an outstanding member of the organization and community, L. Clinton Boothby, chairman of the FCHN board of directors, said when presenting the award.

For over 20 years, Wells has served the community and organization directing and overseeing security measures, code practices and policies, Boothby said.

Wells told the gathering of hospital staff and care providers that he “loves the work that all of you do.”

In the proclamation, Wells was also acknowledged for his expertise in educating staff in Crisis Prevention and Intervention, ensuring the safety and well-being of staff and patients.

Wells is also a compassionate, inspirational and empathetic person, Boothby said.

A brief annual meeting was held to acknowledge some of the accomplishments and challenges met by FCHN over the past year.

As part of MaineHealth, FCHN has seen advantages from sharing of resources, interim President and Chief Executive Officer Timothy Churchill wrote in his report.

Churchill was not able to attend the meeting because of illness, Boothby said.

Health care is constantly changing and FCHN has experienced those changes over the year and will experience more change in the months ahead, Boothby said of a strategic plan created to ensure health care services continue.

“The board of directors voted last spring to end a string a losses by reducing staff and the operational footprint of the organization to better match patient demand,” Boothby wrote in the report.

The changes included a wage and salary freeze for employees, eliminating vacant positions, reducing hours for some employees and caused about 22 layoffs, he wrote.

Despite the challenges, this has been a giving, caring and loving place for health care, he said.

Three board members were honored for completion of their service, including Joseph Bujold, Gilly Hitchcock and Dr. Meredith Tipton.

New board members are Everett O’Neil of Verso Paper, Katherine Heer, DMD, and Farmington Police Chief Jack Peck, Boothby said.

[email protected]

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.