Among the best running backs in Class C South last fall, Kyle Farrar ran well behind his team of blockers, and usually pretty well past would-be tacklers, too.

Come the winter season, those blockers and defenders disappear, leaving the Falcons senior alone with his own thoughts — and with nothing to stop him.

Not much likely would have, anyway.

Farrar jumped his way to a state crown this season in Class B, and added a second-place finish in another event to help him earn the title of Sun Journal indooor track and field athlete of the year.

The senior  has excelled in both outdoor and indoor track throughout his four years in high school. This winter, he earned a state title as the best long jumper in Class B and placed second in the triple jump.

Farrar jumped 20 feet, 4¾ inches in the long jump to earn the state’s best mark at this year’s state indoor meet at Bates College. And he felt he could have still done better.


“Today was an alright day,” Farrar told the Sun Journal after the meet. “I really wanted to hit the board in the long jump, but was short every time. I still got some good jumps, though.”

Farrar jumped 40 feet, 6 inches in the triple jump, finishing two inches being the eventual state champion.

“In the triple jump, I did hit the board and was able to keep my speed constant throughout the jump,” the senior said that day.

Farrar will compete this spring in outdoor track, hoping to improve upon his second-place long jump finish in 2016’s state championships.

“I’m looking forward to outdoor this year, I have a lot to go out and accomplish,” Farrar said.

Kyle Farrar leaps into the air for the long jump at the Class B Maine Indoor Track meet at Bates College on Saturday.

Boys’ indoor track and field


Athlete of the year: Kyle Farrar Mountain Valley, Sr.

First team

Kyle Farrar Mountain Valley, Sr.

Ethan Solis Lewiston, Sr.

Abdirash Abukar Lewiston, Sr.

Owen Mower Edward Little, Sr.


Benjamin Musese Lewiston, Sr.

Race Bouchard Edward Little, Sr.

Benjamin Bernier Poland, Sr.

Abbas Muktar Lewiston, Jr.

Aden Mohamed Lewiston, Sr.

Vincent Russo Poland, Sr.

Alexander Thompson Edward Little. Jr.

Jaykob Sanborn Gray-New Gloucester, Jr.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.