Caleb Austin had one thing in mind for his senior year at Mountain Valley High School.

“I’d like to leave a mark here in wrestling,” he said prior to the winter sports season.

Austin certainly did that, graduating as the school’s all-time leader in victories after a dominant senior season, which he capped off with a defense of his 126-pound state title and a strong performance at New Englands, and being named the 2017 Sun Journal Wrestler of the Year.

Praised for his leadership, self-motivation and dedication to off-season training by Falcons coach Gary Dolloff, Austin carried the same work ethic and mindset into each match to post a 52-3 mark this year.

“He’s very coachable, always stays focused,” Dolloff said. “You never can tell if he is in a tight match or a blowout because he has the same demeanor.”

Austin’s 17-3 win over MCI’s ZyAnthony Moss in the state championship final is testimony to that relentless approach.


In addition to his individual state title, Austin helped the Falcons finish second to eventual state champion Wells at the Mid-State and Class B South regional championships, and fourth at the Class B state meet.

Austin went 2-2 at New England regionals to complete his high school career with a 208-11 mark and in possession of virtually every record in the Mountain Valley wrestling books.

Just a few weeks after closing his high school wrestling career, Austin will begin a new chapter in his competitive career when he makes his mixed martial arts debut as flyweight Caleb “Dr. Feelgood” Austin at NEF 28: Invincible on April 29 at the Androscoggin Bank Colisee.

Athlete of the year: Caleb Austin, Mtn. Valley

First team

106 Vinny Deroche Mtn. Valley Jr.


113 Evritt Roy Mtn. Valley Fr.

120 Jaden David Oxford Hills So.

126 Caleb Austin Mtn. Valley Sr.

132 Danny Buteau Oak Hill Sr.

138 Ethan Boucher Mtn. Valley Sr.

145 Kurtis Bolton Lisbon Sr.


152 Hunter White Dirigo Sr.

160 Bryce Whittemore Dirigo Sr.

170 Jesse Pelletier Mtn. Valley Sr.

182 Zuka Mabior Oxford Hills Jr.

195 Dalton Berry Dirigo Jr.

220 Jeffrey Worster Oxford Hills Fr.


285 Austin Seely Mt. Blue Sr.

Second team

106 Jack Tibbetts Lisbon Fr.

113 Dave Poulin Lisbon Fr.

120 Riley Quatrano Lisbon Fr.

126 Kyle Laroche Lisbon Sr.


132 Jon Wainwright Dirigo Jr.

138 Jon Kolbe Lisbon Jr.

145 Colin Woodhead Dirigo Sr.

152 Dylon Cobbett Oxford Hills Jr.

160 Dawson Stevens Oxford Hills Jr.

170 Brad Harriman Lisbon Jr.


182 Nolan Degroot Dirigo So.

195 Jarrod Taylor Oxford Hills Jr.

220 Darren Buono Mtn. Valley So.

285 Jamal Hill Oxford Hills Jr.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.