Four-time champion Tim Brackett kept the streak of no repeat winners alive in the headline division, pulling away to victory in the Irving Forest Products Super Late Model Trophy Dash Saturday night at Oxford Plains Speedway.

Brackett, of Buckfield, had struggled in his role as defending champion for much of the season. A win in the first of three qualifying heats put him on pole for the 50-lap feature, and he led every lap to post his first win of the season.

Windham’s JT Thurlow posted a career-best second-place finish. Thurlow made steady forward progress against top-notch competition with far more experience.

Multi-time Late Model track champion Shawn Martin of Turner started 19th on the 20-car grid and quickly charged up into contention. Martin was forced to the rear again when his shifter broke, then managed to claw his way back to an impressive third-place finish after dominating the feature back on July 7.

Oxford’s own Dennis Spencer Jr. bounced back from an early spin to finish in fourth place. Former NASCAR Busch North Series champion Kelly Moore rounded out the top five, just ahead of Buckfield’s TJ Brackett. 

David Whittier of West Poland returned to victory lane in the 30-lap main event for Oxford’s Street Stock division. Whittier had a spirited battle for the lead with Lisbon’s Rick Spaulding before taking command at lap 19 in the outside groove.

Livermore’s Tyler King made a late charge up through the field to earn runner-up honors in front of Turner’s Matt Dufault, who was working hard to notch a third-place finish. Bryce Mains of Bridgton and Spaulding rounded out the top five. King won the lone qualifying race.

Kyle Hewins powered to victory in the 20-lap main event for the Bandit division. Hewins, of Leeds, filling in for former champion Shaun Hinkley, forced out by an injury, led the entire race. Adam Sanborn of West Paris (driving a car owned by Hewins) cruised to another solid, second-place finish.

Reigning Oxford Bandit champion Jamie Heath of Waterford was closest to the front row starters as the checkered flag waved after passing cars in three different grooves to earn a third-place trophy. Tyler Jalbert of Auburn and Turner’s Tyler Green filled out the top five. 

Kyle Kilgore of South Paris got to the lead early in the 15-lap Figure 8 race and cruised to victory in a caution-filled contest. Greg Durgin of South Paris got his best-ever Figure 8 finish with a runner-up performance. The previous week’s winner, Eric Hodgkins, claimed third-place hardware while operating in survival mode.

Veteran David Smith of South Paris and points leader Tommy Tompkins of Carthage rounded out the top five. Kilgore’s only real threat was Lewiston’s Jon Lizotte, who was eliminated by a car he owns.

Peter Craig of Poland held off a stout challenge from Gray’s Kevin Oliver to win the Legends Cars feature race. Massachusetts-based teenager Aliyah Neale picked up the third-place trophy. 

Gerry back on top at The Ridge

Reigning NASCAR Whelen All-American Series weekly champion Curtis Gerry got back on top at his home track on Saturday evening, winning the 40-lap feature at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway in Scarborough. 

Gerry, of Waterboro, held off point leader and 2015 champion Reid Lanpher for top honors, while Brandon Barker filled out the podium in third. Nick Cusack and recent winner Corey Bubar completed the top five. 

Charlie Sanborn got back to Victory Lane in an entertaining battle for Sport Series competitors. The driver from Scarborough out-gunned longtime Beech Ridge ace Richard Pelton to prevail, while Matt Dow of Buxton finished third. 

Saco’s Terry Merrill and Frank Wear of Buxton rounded out the top five.

In the thrill-a-minute Wildcat division, Adam Lovejoy was the man to beat. The driver from Alfred held off Dave Cameron for the big trophy, while Ryan Lund settled for third. Defending champion Lewis Anderson came home fourth, while Chaz Briggs of Westbrook finished fifth. 

Hinkley earns Late Model win at Wiscasset

Two-time division champion Nick Hinkley powered to his fourth victory of 2017 with another impressive performance in the Late Model feature, as Group 2 took center stage on Saturday night at Wiscasset Speedway. 

Hinkley, of Wiscasset, beat runner-up Chris Thorne to the line by almost two seconds, while Liberty’s Josh St. Clair finished a distant third. Will Collins, of Waldoboro, and Windham’s Steve Minott completed the top five. 

Jimmy Childs notched a second-consecutive win in Outlaw Mini action. The veteran from Leeds and 2015 points champion checked out on the field in his mighty Mustang, with a margin of victory over runner-up Jake Hendsbee of nearly four seconds. 

Tim Collins of Farmingdale filled out the podium in third, while Rob Greenleaf (Bath) and Scott Trask (Richmond) finished fourth and fifth, respectively. 

Turner’s Glenn Reynolds drove to victory in Saturday’s Super Street feature. Reynolds edged a hard-charging Cole Watson at the line by a mere 0.288 seconds, with Sabattus veteran Zach Emerson just off his back bumper in third. 

Other feature winners on Saturday at Wiscasset include Nick Reno (NAPA Mods); Noah Korner (NELCAR Legends makeup feature); and Austin Teras (NELCAR Legends regular feature). 

Tim Brackett
Four-time champion Tim Brackett of Buckfield powers off Turn 4 at Oxford Plains Speedway earlier this season. Brackett earned his first Super Late Model feature win of the season on Saturday, keeping a streak of no repeat winners alive for 2017. 

Comments are not available on this story.