LEWISTON — Community Credit Union was named the 2016 recipient of the CUNA Desjardins Financial Education Awards for youth and adult financial education, the Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Award and the Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Award.

President/CEO Jen Hogan traveled to Washington, D.C., to the Governmental Affairs Conference to accept the awards.

The Desjardins Youth and Adult Financial Education Award programs recognize leadership within the credit union movement on behalf of financial literacy for members and nonmembers of all ages. CUNA created the Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Award to encourage and honor credit union and chapter involvement in community projects and activities. The Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Award is given to credit unions that do an extraordinary job incorporating credit union philosophy into daily operations.

Accepting awards for Community Credit Union are, from left Christina Carter, EVP, and Jennifer Hogan, president/CEO of Community Credit Union; and Vicki Stuart, MECUL board nember.

Comments are not available on this story.