Edward Little’s Grant Hartley passes the ball before Lewiston’s Jeremy Madore can tackle him during the Battle of the Bridge football game in October at Garcelon Field at Bates College. (Andree Kehn/Sun Journal)

Edward Little quarterback Grant Hartley and Leavitt quarterback Tim Albert join state champions Owen Garrard of Scarborough High and Nolan Potter of Wells headline the list of 12 semifinalists for the 47th James J. Fitzpatrick Trophy, given to the top high school senior in Maine football.

The semifinalists were announced Wednesday.

Garrard was the best player on the state’s best team, rushing for 1,204 yards with 24 touchdowns and making 77 tackles as a linebacker to lead Scarborough to its first Class A state title. He scored five touchdowns in the championship game.

Potter was also a two-way force as a running back/linebacker. He rushed for 1,550 yards with 28 touchdowns to help Wells win the Class D crown.

Hartley and Albert, both strong-armed quarterbacks with the ability to run, led their teams to strong regular seasons in which the Red Eddies and Hornets captured the top seeds in their regions — A North and C South, respectively.

The other semifinalists are:

Jack Bryant, quarterback/safety, Falmouth; Nick Clawson, quarterback/safety, Foxcroft Academy; Cameron Houde, running back/linebacker, Thornton Academy; Colby Lee, running back/safety, Mount Desert Island; Jordan Roddy, wide receiver/safety, Cony; Connor Sirois, quarterback/safety, Bonny Eagle; Ryan Weare, fullback/linebacker, Cape Elizabeth; and Sean Whalen, running back/linebacker, Madison.

Cape Elizabeth’s Luis Daukas tackles Leavitt quarterback Tim Albert before he can get through the line during their game in Turner this season. (Russ Dillingham/Sun Journal)

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: