LEWISTON — New year, new mayor. 

For the first time since 2012, Lewiston will have a new face in the mayor’s office at City Hall. It will become official Tuesday, Jan. 2, when Shane Bouchard is sworn in alongside other elected officials during Lewiston’s inaugural ceremony. 

The event will kick off at 6:30 p.m. at The Dolard & Priscilla Gendron Franco Center on Cedar Street, welcoming new officials while honoring those leaving office.

According to a city news release, Mayor Bob Macdonald, who was limited to three consecutive two-year terms, will give a farewell address.

Bouchard, who outlasted challenger Ben Chin during a runoff election Dec. 12, will present his inaugural address, highlighting his goals and objectives for the city for the next two years. Bouchard beat Chin by 145 votes during the runoff election. 

Gov. Paul LePage and Congressman Bruce Poliquin, both Republicans, who were both Bouchard supporters, are scheduled to attend the ceremony.

During Tuesday’s ceremony, the City Council will elect its president for the 2018-20 term, while the School Committee will elect its chairperson. 

According to the release, the event will also feature Hailey Martock performing the national anthem, Fire Department Chaplain John Robbins, Police Department Chaplain Chris Pomerleau, and Lewiston High School a cappella group Blue Notes. 

The combined honor guard of the Police Department and the Fire Department will serve as the color guard and will conduct the presentation and retirement of the flags.

A dessert reception will immediately follow the ceremony. For more information, contact City Clerk Kathy Montejo at 513-3124.

Shane Bouchard, standing, speaks to supporters after winning the Dec. 12 runoff for Lewiston mayor. He will be sworn into office with other elected officials Tuesday. (Sun Journal file photo)


Mayor: Shane D. Bouchard

City Council: James J. Lysen, Ward 1; Zachary T. Pettengill, Ward 2; Alicia M. Rea, Ward 3; Michel A. Lajoie, Ward 4; Kristen S. Cloutier, Ward 5; Joline Landry Beam, Ward 6; Michael J. Marcotte, Ward 7.

School Committee: Megan D. Parks, at-large; Renee P. Courtemanche, Ward 1; Monique Roy, Ward 2, Francis N. Gagnon, Ward 3; Tanya M. Estabrook, Ward 4; Luke D. Jensen, Ward 5; and Tina L. Hutchinson, Ward 7. The Ward 6 School Committee seat is vacant.

filed under: