AUBURN — Taylor Jorgensen of Manchester and a senior at Saint Dominic Academy in Auburn has been selected to receive the 2018 Principal’s Award, said Principal Shelly Wheeler. The award, sponsored by the Maine Principals’ Association, is given in recognition of a high school senior’s academic achievement and citizenship.

Jorgensen played varsity golf, varsity softball and competition cheering while at St. Dom’s and finished second in her class, academically. She will attend Bowdoin College this fall.

“Throughout Taylor’s years at Saint Dominic Academy, she has distinguished herself in the classroom, on the field and as a leader in the school community,” said Principal Wheeler. “She is very deserving of this recognition.”

Jorgensen and Wheeler attended an Honors Luncheon last month which recognized outstanding students from all over the state with the presentation of an individual plaque and the awarding of five $1,000 scholarships in the names of Horace O. McGowan and Richard W. Tyler. Mr. McGowan and Mr. Tyler were former Maine principals and executive directors of the Association. An additional five $1,000 scholarships will be presented through the efforts of the MPA Scholarship Golf Tournament.

The Principal’s Award is presented in more than 100 Maine public and private high schools by member principals of the MPA, the professional association which represents Maine’s school administrators.

Taylor Jorgensen

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.