AUBURN — The Auburn Community Concert Band, under the direction of Milt Simon, will kick off its annual summer series of weekly outdoor evening concerts at Festival Plaza in downtown Auburn on Wednesday, June 20.

The 7 p.m. performance is the first of 10 programs scheduled for the location. The free concerts will continue weekly on Wednesday evenings through Aug. 22, weather permitting. If inclement weather, the band will perform at The Dolard & Priscilla Gendron Franco Center on Cedar Street in Lewiston.

The public is advised to visit for up-to-the-minute information on concert locations and programs.

This year not only marks the 37th anniversary since Simon first organized the band, but this summer’s group is the largest in more than a decade. The 50 volunteer musicians range in age from 13 to 89, and represent 16 Maine communities.

Each week the band will present a different musical theme, featuring popular songs from the past 50 years. “If you have a favorite song from the last five decades, chances are good that the ACCB will perform it sometime during our 10-week concert season,” Simon stated.

People attending performances should bring a lawn chair and arrive well before 7 p.m. Ample free parking is available in the parking garage across the street from the plaza. A food vendor will be on site for every concert.


The programs for this summer’s 10-week concert series are:

• June 20: “Forgotten but Unforgettable”

• June 27: “Songs that Bridge Generations”

• July 4: “An Evening of Patriotic Music”

• July 11: “American Idols”

• July 18: “It’s Showtime!”


• July 25: “The Voice”

• Aug. 1: “Let’s Dance”

• Aug. 8: “The Legends of Rock”

• Aug. 15: “Gone Too Soon”

• Aug. 22: “ACCB’s Greatest Hits”

Members of the concert band are (piccolo) Jennifer Cyr and Susan Gayle, piccolo; Sharon Blodgett, Barbara Jabaut, Carrie Palmer, Kellie Pelletier, River Stickney and Jackie Woods, flute; Kiani Camire, Loren Gardner, Denise Leavitt, Dorothy LeClair, Patti Pelletier, Rick Rau, Emily McCarthy-Rucker, Louise Theberge, Patricia Varney and Emily White, clarinet; Hayden Pelletier, bassoon; Kerry Gould, David Griswold, Kyle McLellan and Sean Racicot-Psaledakis, alto saxaphone; Angela Greenwald and Marty Lang, tenor saxaphone; Jason Toussaint, baritone saxaphone; Ivan Boudreau, Elliott Epstein, Stephen Lobley, Jill Longstaff, Alisson Morin, Maurice Morin, Nancy Morris and Jennifer Williams, trumpet; Stephanie Burke and Katrina Guignard, French horn; Sonny Begin, Margaret Berry, Fred Fahlsing, Carla Lobley, Chip Morrison and Tom Nelson, trombone; Hadley Blodgett, Dennis Marenius and Jason McVille, baritone; Mike Gamache, Joshua Hofferberth and Duncan Webster, tuba; Dan Leclair and Laurie Swart, percussion.

Comments are no longer available on this story

filed under: