LEWISTON — The Franco-American Education Foundation awarded $46,000 in scholarship funds to high school graduates from the greater Lewiston-Auburn area at its recent awards banquet held at the Gendron Franco Center.

The sum is in addition to the $95,250 being awarded to students presently attending college and in their sophomore, junior and senior years.

The following students were awarded scholarships: Taylor Chamberlain, Lewiston High School; Jenna Burton, Lewiston High School; Maggie Rose Belleau, Lewiston High School; Joshua Fortin, St Dominic Academy; Zoe Nadeau, Leavitt Area High School; Ryan Bossie, Lewiston High School; Elizabeth Perkins, St. Dominic Academy; Conrad Laroche-Albert, Lewiston High School; Chloe Veilleux, Leavitt Area High School; Hunter Gish, Lewiston High School; Julia St Laurent, University of Massachusetts, Lowell; Maegan Rose Sheehy, Oakhill High School; Michaela Gervais, Oakhill High School; Dominique Cyr, Edward Little High School; Katelyn Breton, Edward Little High School; Matthew Hird, Lewiston High School; Justin Theriault, Edward Little High School; Angela Daigle, Husson University; Kaitlin Gagnon, Lewiston High School; Caroline Gastonguay, St. Dominic Academy; and Gabrielle Wilson, Lewiston High School.

The foundation was created to provide financial assistance for high school graduates of Franco-American ancestry pursuing higher education at vocational schools, colleges, and universities. 

The foundation is the brainchild of attorney Robert Couturier, who during his lifetime left a legacy of accomplishment to the community, the Franco-American population and the foundation. It was initially funded by a generous gift from Lucien and Georgianna Martin, the former owners of Lewiston Crush Stone. Other benefactors to the foundation include Roland and Teresa Rodrigue, Rose Couturier, Albert Cote and Maurice Hemond.

The board of directors for the Franco-American Education Foundation is comprised of Susan Lagueux, president; Jeannine Tardif, immediate past-president; Monique Couturier, treasurer; Roger Couturier, Rachel Maier, Giselle Couturier and Paul Dionne, clerks.

Applications can be obtained from Monique Couturier at P.O. Box 407, Litchfield, Maine 04350-0407.

2018 recipients of the Franco-American Education Foundation Scholarships are, from left, Taylor Chamberlain, Jenna Burton, Maggie Rose Belleau, Joshua Fortin, Zoe Nadeau, Ryan Bossie, Elizabeth Perkins, Conrad Laroche-Albert, Chloe Veilleux, Hunter Gish, Julia St Laurent, Maegan Rose Sheehy, Michaela Gervais, Dominique Cyr, Katelyn Breton, Matthew Hird and Justin Theriault. Recipients not pictured are  Angela Daigle, Kaitlin Gagnon, Caroline Gastonguay and Gabrielle Wilson.

Comments are no longer available on this story