FARMINGTON — Franklin Savings Bank announced the nonprofit winners of the its “Community 150” initiative, awarding a total of $150,000 from the bank’s Community Development Foundation to 60 groups.

The top three organizations from each county were recognized during a Nov. 28 reception in Farmington. Franklin Savings Bank is celebrating its 150th anniversary by giving back to the communities that have made this milestone possible.

First Place $10,000 winners are Franklin County Animal Shelter, accepted by Dori Diaz; Main Street Skowhegan, accepted by Kristina Cannon; Community Closet, accepted by Jacqueline Wycoff; and Thompson Lake Environmental Association.

Second Place $7,500 winners are Healing Hands, accepted by Tracy Kniffin; Farmington Ski Club, accepted by Set Noonkester; Team Hailey Hugs, accepted by Tabaitha Steward; and Lake Stewards of Maine, accepted by Scott Williams.

Third Place $5,000 winners are Greater Rumford Community Center, accepted by Gary Dolloff; Rangeley Library Association, accepted by Janet Wilson; Sebasticook Chapter of NAVHDA, accepted by Peter Wade; and Families First Community Center, accepted by Terri Ouellette.

Other winners include Rangeley Lakes Heritage Trust, Holland Strong Community Foundation, Rangeley Health and Wellness Center, Rangeley Lakes Region Historical Society, Washburn-Norlands Living History Center, MATE Housing Ministry, Rangeley Region Guides and Sportsmen’s Association, Fit Girls of Wilton, Maine; Double B Equine Rescue Corp., LEAP Inc., Farmington Public Library Association, Care & Share Food Closet, Chisholm Ski Club, Pink Feather Foundation, Region 9 School of Applied Technology, Community Concepts Inc., Androscoggin Land Trust, Mexico Historical Society, Gardner Roberts Memorial Library, Hope Association, Maine K9 Vest Fund, Andover Educational Fund Inc., Maine Adaptive Sports and Recreation, and Rural Community Action Ministry.

Franklin Savings Bank asked people in the communities it serves to nominate nonprofit organizations as part of its FSB Community 150 initiative. Responses received over the two-month period between Aug. 15 and Oct. 15 were tallied in ranking the recipients.

The eligible nonprofits, recognized by the IRS as 501(c)(3) organizations, are based in or provide services to Franklin, Oxford, Somerset or Hancock counties.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.