FARMINGTON — At the recent 4-H recognition event program, the achievements of youth and adult leaders this year were recognized.

4-H members Allison Blauvelt, Bradley Smith, Caleb Mulcahy and Noah Mulcahy shared their experiences while attending Citizenship Washington Focus, a national program held in Washington, D. C.

They showed a pictures of their trip, including one of the Washington National Cathedral. They spoke of how massive the building was.

Allison said, “I really liked CWF. I made a lot of new friends.”

At the recent 4-H Recognition Event held in Farmington, youth and volunteer leaders were recognized for their achievements this year. Pictured from left are Mariah Johnson, Samantha Davis, Amberleah Smith and Jason Bagley who received county medals for achievement and agriculture. (Pam Harnden/Franklin Journal)

The four got to talk to 4-H members from every state. Some wished the trip had been longer.

Jason Bagley was the recipient of a new county award, The Doris Gay Spirit Award. Named in memory of long-time leader Doris Gay, who gave over 60 years to Franklin County 4-H despite being confined to a wheelchair, the ongoing award will have the recipient’s name and date engraved on it. Jason was involved with numerous projects and community service activities this year.

County medals were presented to members participating and excelling in at least three project areas. There are five program-area medals that may be awarded nationally. Achievement: Mariah Johnson, Samantha Davis, Jason Bagley and Amberleah Smith. Agriculture: Samantha Davis, Jason Bagley, Amberleah Smith and Mariah Johnson. Home management: Caleb and Hannah Mulcahy, Faith Dexter and John Curtis Winslow. Citizenship: Jason Bagley, Caleb and Hannah Mulcahy and Caleb Evans. Leadership: Caleb and Hannah Mulcahy, Faith Dexter and Jason Bagley.

The Doe-C-Doe Dairy Goat Club received the community service award. Members and leaders made catnip bags for the Franklin County Animal Shelter, made quilts for veterans in Augusta, made thank you cards for the military, provided more than 30 pounds of food for the local food pantry, sent birthday cards to the elderly at an area nursing home, and picked up trash in downtown Farmington.

Terri Pierce was named the Rookie Leader of the Year. This award is presented to a leader who has been involved for three years or less and is voted on by all club leaders.

Volunteer Penny Brackett was recognized for five years of service as a 4-H leader. Maureen Clair has been a leader for 10 years and Karen Snyder 15 years.

4-H member Faith Dexter was recognized for graduating/aging out of the program. Youth between the ages of 5 and 18 as of Jan. 1 of the current enrollment year may participate. Faith was also recognized for being Maine’s spokesperson at National Congress.

Wiekko Sillanpaa received a yoke from the Franklin County Working Steer 4-H Club for his efforts this year.

Several 4-H clubs presented Clover Pride awards to one of their members. Mia Willingham was selected by the Dusty Boots 4-H Club, Allison Blauvelt from the Doe-C-Doe Dairy Goat Club, Lauren Robinson from the Franklin County Working Steer 4-H Club, Alexis Meisner from the Franklin County Beef Boosters and Mason Rowe from the Franklin County Dairy  and Supper on the Table 4-H Clubs.

Blue ribbon 4-H members recognized included Amberleah Smith, Jack Sullivan, Alexis Meisner, Jade Fitch, Andrew and Jason Bagley, Samantha Davis, Lauren Robinson, Wiekko Sillanpaa, John Curtis Winslow, Jonathan Cliche, Bradley Smith, Mariah Johnson, Caleb and Hannah Mulcahy, Mackenzy Labrie, Faith Dexter and Noah and Joshua Mulcahy.

The Franklin County Dairy and Beef Boosters Clubs were recognized as blue ribbon clubs.

County pins were presented to 4-H members for their work in particular projects.

Arts and crafts: John Curtis Winslow, Hannah Mulcahy and Tabytha Cliche.

Astronomy: Mackenzie Jones.

Beef: Mariah Johnson, Aberleah Smith and Jack Sullivan.

Birds/poultry: John Curtis Winslow, Samantha Davis and Jason Bagley.

Citizenship: Caleb Mulcahy.

Clothing/textiles: Caleb Evans and Faith Dexter.

Community service: Mariah Johnson, Caleb Evans and Mackenzie Labrie.

Communication arts: Caleb and Hannah Mulcahy.

Dairy: Mariah Johnson, Samantha Davis and Jason Bagley.

Dance/movement: Bailey Jones.

Drawing/painting/sculpting: Hannah Mulcahy and Mackenzie Jones.

Entomology: John Curtis Winslow.

Food/nutrition: Daria Gerrish and John Curtis Winslow.

Goat: Mariah Johnson, Faith Dexter and Caleb Evans.

Horse: Mackenzie Jones and Mia and Grace Willingham.

Leadership: Caleb and Hannah Mulcahy, Faith Dexter and Mackenzy Labrie.

Marketing: Jason Bagley.

Math: Caleb Mulcahy.

Photography: Caleb Mulcahy and Alexis Comeau.

Plant Science: Mackenzie Labrie and John Curtis Winslow.

Rabbits and cavies: Daria and Cyriss Gerrish.

Reading/literature: John Curtis Winslow.

Recycling: Mackenzy Labrie.

Sheep: Mariah Johnson, Jason Bagley, Samantha Davis and Amberleah Smith.

Shooting sports: Caleb Evans.

Swine: Samantha Davis.

Technology and engineering: Caleb Mulcahy and Mariah Johnson.

Tractor: Matthew Smith Jr.

Veterinary science: Mackenzie Jones.

Wood science: Caleb Mulcahy.

Working Steer: Wiekko Sillanpaa, Lauren Robinson and Brooklynn Webber.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: