A total of five people will be on the ballot when Orono holds its municipal elections later this winter.

Last Friday, Jan. 11 was the last day to return nomination paper for those wishing to run. By that time, four people had returned papers for the two seats opening up on the town council – incumbent Laurie Osher as well as Adam Toothaker, Daniel LaPointe and Terry Greenier. Tom Spitz opted to not run for re-election.

For one seat on RSU 26’s Board of Directors, there is one candidate – incumbent Geoffrey Wingard.

All terms of office are for three years.

Orono’s municipal elections will be held March 12.

filed under: