The Good Food Council of Lewiston-Auburn announces a new chairman and seven new members in January, bringing its 2019 ranks to 14.

Katie Boss, Auburn resident and public health professional at Healthy Androscoggin, is the new chairwoman. This is her second year on the council.

The incoming seven members represent a wide range of local food system stakeholders, including a fourth-generation family farm that spans three townships, a health care-based hunger screening program, a statewide healthy food education program, a volunteer gleaning initiative, an immigrant and refugee integration and farming support organization, an institutional food service department, and a post-secondary environmental education and research department. In addition, they bring connections to numerous personal and professional networks.

New members include Francis Eanes, Bates College Environmental Studies; Alyssa Adkins, University of Maine Cooperative Extension Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program; Jeff Newell, Androscoggin Gleaners and University of Maine Cooperative Extension Master Gardener Program; David Bell, Bell Farms; Julia Bergquist, Family Medicine Residency at Central Maine HealthCare; Mohamed Dekow, Sustainable Livelihoods Relief Organization; and Rachel Jalbert, Bates College Catering.

New members of the Good Food Council stand with Katie Boss, returning chair. From left, Francis Eanes, Alyssa Adkins, Jeff Newell and Boss. Other new members not pictured include David Bell, Julia Bergquist, Mohamed Dekow and Rachel Jalbert.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: