WASHINGTON, DC — Mt. Blue High School teacher Dan Ryder is one of five educators to receive one of public education’s highest honors, the NEA Foundation’s prestigious Horace Mann Award for Teaching Excellence, recognition as one of the nation’s top educators, and $10,000 on Friday, Feb. 8.

The NEA Foundation, a public charity founded by educators for educators, presents the awards to honor educators for their diligence and dedication to students, colleagues, community, and profession, with the generous support of Horace Mann. This year’s awards take place during the Foundation’s 50th anniversary. The Foundation offers live coverage of the awards on February 8 from 7:30 to 10:30 p.m. on its Gala page and on Twitter at @NEAFoundation. The awardees are:

• Matthew Bacon-Brenes, a dual language immersion mentor teacher in Portland Public Schools in Portland, Oregon, nominated by the Oregon Education Association.

• Leah Juelke, a 9th to 12th grade language arts educator for English learner (EL) students at Fargo South High School in Fargo, North Dakota, nominated by North Dakota United.

• Dan Ryder, a 9th to 12th grade language arts educator at Mt. Blue High School in Farmington, Maine, nominated by the Maine Education Association.

Dan Ryder (Submitted photo)

• Cynthia Tong, an 8th grade social studies educator at Ewa Makai Middle School in Ewa Beach, Hawaii, nominated by the Hawaii State Teachers Association.

• Cicely Woodard, an 8th grade mathematics educator at Freedom Middle School in Franklin, Tennessee, nominated by the Tennessee Education Association.

“These five educators kindle ideas, open minds, nurture confidence, and build community. They keep the promise of public education by growing the hearts and minds of their students, preparing them for the challenges and opportunities of tomorrow,” said Harriet Sanford, President and CEO of the NEA Foundation.  “By honoring them with this award, we thank them and all the public school educators they represent, who work tirelessly on behalf of their students, schools, and communities.”

“So many teachers go above and beyond to serve the needs of their students, and these five educators are great examples of what it takes to excel in the classroom,” said Marita Zuraitis, President and CEO of Horace Mann. “As a company serving educators’ financial needs for more than 70 years, Horace Mann is pleased to honor these educators for playing an instrumental role in educating the children of our future.”

Each will be featured in a video shot at their school including their students, which will premiere at the gala.

The NEA Foundation and the National Education Association jointly present the awards, which are sponsored by NEA Member Benefits, the Horace Mann Companies, and California Casualty.

Educators will be celebrated at the NEA Foundation’s Salute to Excellence in Education Awards Gala on February 8, 2019 by over 850 leaders in public education, philanthropic, and business sectors, in Washington, DC, and by many more viewers online. Students, colleagues, peers, and family members of awardees host viewing parties to watch live streaming video of the program at home as awardees from across the nation are recognized.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.