Lewiston goalie Keegan McLaughlin, Edward Little defenseman Will Cassidy and Falmouth forward Owen Drummey have been selected as the finalists for this year’s Travis Roy Award.

The honor is presented by the Maine Class A Coaches Association to the top Class A senior boys hockey player in the state.

McLaughlin has been the last line of defense for the Blue Devils the past few seasons, and during that time no Maine high school team has been able to beat them. Lewiston coach Jamie Belleau lauds McLaughlin’s leadership as well as his relentless competitive nature.

The latter was illustrated after a 3-1 win over Falmouth last season.

“After the game, the team was understandably excited about the win, but when I went in the locker room, Keegan was visibly upset about something,” Belleau said. “I went to him and checked on him. He said, ‘Coach, I should have had that goal,’ referring to the shot Falmouth’s Drummey took from the top of the circle that was bar down and couldn’t have been stopped by anyone. I said that to Keegan and he said, ‘I should have had it.’

“No one could have saved that puck, but that just shows the compete level Keegan brings to the table day in and day out.”


Lewiston has had four previous Travis Roy Award winners: Ryan Pomerleau last year, Jeromey Rancourt in 2017, Kyle Lemelin in 2014, Cam Poussard in 2011.

Cassidy would be Edward Little’s third winner, joining Kyle Smith (2004) and Josh Benson (2002).

Red Eddies coach Norm Gagne said earlier this month that Cassidy embodies the characteristics of Travis Roy, who died in October.

“I’ve had Travis Roy nominees in the past and I’m proud of all of them, but Will Cassidy is one who isn’t just a good player with good character, he is a person who in my opinion is a true athlete,” Gagne said. “I believe to be a true athlete you must have the desire to be a winner and the willingness to work for it. You also need to have a good positive character that will enable you to overcome adversity rather than crumble under the stress and pressure of the game. Finally, he possesses the cohesiveness to do whatever it takes to help the team win and always puts the team first rather than looking for personal glory.”

Drummey has been a standout player for Falmouth since his freshman season, and has continuously strived to become even better over the past four years.

“When Owen plays the game, his skill and talent on the ice are immediately apparent to even the casual observer,” Yachtsmen coach Deron Barton said, “but (what) is most impressive to those of us who know him off the ice is his how he has challenged himself to successfully overcome his weaknesses as a player and person. He has employed every resource made available to him by the coaching staff, teachers and his parents to become not only a better hockey player but a better person.”

Falmouth has had three previous Travis Roy Award winners: Theo Hembre in 2018, Isac Nordstrom in 2015 and Peter Gustavson in 2005.

Along with Cassidy, Drummey and McLaughlin, St. Dom’s Lucas Pushard, Portland/Deering’s Max Cheever and Scarborough’s Peter O’Brien were semifinalists for the Travis Roy Award.

This year’s winner is expected to be announced April 18.

Related Headlines

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.