NORWAY — Chairman Russell Newcomb will serve an eighth term on the Select Board.

Newcomb, who was first voted to serve on the five-person board in 2000, ran unopposed in Tuesday’s election and received 115 votes out of 130 cast.

Two of the town’s four seats on the School Administration District 17 board of directors were also up for election. Jared Cash was re-elected with 106 votes, while Peter Wood received 88 votes.

Cynthia Reedy and Jessie Shiers were elected trustees for the Norway Memorial Library with 108 and 91 votes, respectively.

Norway voters also favored the SAD 17 school budget by a wide margin of 100-25, and the adult education budget received large support by a vote of 109-20.

Residents will still vote on the proposed municipal budget at the annual Town Meeting, scheduled for Monday, June 14, at Oxford Hills Comprehensive High School in Paris. Also scheduled on the docket for that evening are proposed changes to town ordinances, including one that covers curfew for youngsters.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: