Jack Mills casts his ballots Tuesday afternoon for the Wilton elections and the Regional School Unit 9 2022-2023 budget referendum at the Wilton Town Office. Voters elected incumbent Tiffany Maiuri and Mike Wells to the Select Board. Kay Neufeld/Franklin Journal

WILTON — After an incredibly close election Tuesday night, a candidate for Select Board has requested a recount.

Voters on Tuesday favored Mike Wells and incumbent Selectperson Tiffany Maiuri for seats on the board.

Running for the first seat, held by retiring Selectperson Tom Saviello, were Cherieann Harrison, a retiring RSU 9 director, Evret Greer, a member of Wilton’s Finance Committee, and Wells, a member of Wilton’s Board of Appeals.

Wells won the seat by just one vote with 190 votes, to Harrison’s 189 and Greer’s 45.

On Wednesday, Harrison requested a recount of Wells’ one-vote win.

Harrison said she made the request after hearing from townspeople encouraging a recount.


“I owe it to every individual that voted for me last night to see this through and request a recount,” Harrison said in a written statement. “I have reached out to the town to ensure due process.”

Town Clerk Heather Harris said she is currently working to set a date for the recount, which will be a public proceeding.

During the campaign, Wells said he considered Wilton’s pressing issues to include “ordinances that are not being enforced” such as “disorderly properties and junk accumulation in peoples yards.” He said he will also work to bring more businesses and jobs into town.

Running for the second seat were Maiuri and Lillian Lake. Maiuri won the seat with 293 votes to Lake’s 135.

While campaigning for the position, Maiuri said the most pressing issues facing Wilton are “the pressures of historic inflation (especially gas and home heating oil), a costly and prolonged pandemic, and supply chain issues.” She plans to address these issues with “with long-term planning, seeking grants, support of the community, and a solid understanding and implementation of sound budgeting practices.”

Voters also elected Kyle Fletcher to the Regional School Unit 9 Board of Directors. Fletcher ran unopposed.

Comments are no longer available on this story