Jeremie Whorff races around Oxford Plains Speedway during Super Late Model action on Saturday. Oriana Lovell photo

Jeremie Whorff captured the checkered flag in Saturday’s Super Late Model feature at Oxford Plains Speedway, but all three drivers that finished on the podium had reason to celebrate.

Whorff, the 2006 Oxford 250 winner, won the 100-lap race that was the second of three Port City Race Cars Triple Crown events that will give one driver a provisional spot in this year’s Oxford 250. The final Triple Crown race is scheduled for this coming Saturday. The driver with the best combined finishes from all three races that doesn’t get into the 250 through the normal qualifying process will receive the provisional.

Max Cookson was the runner-up to Whorff, but the SLM rookie was able to pad his season point lead over Calvin Rose Jr. and Curtis Gerry.

Trevor Sanborn, winner of the first Triple Crown feature, finished third in Saturday’s second leg, putting him in a commanding position to get first dibs at the provisional. The next closest competitor in combined finishes from the first two legs is Kyle DeSouza, who was fourth Saturday and sixth the week before.

Other winners Saturday night included Shawn Knight (Mods), Tiger Colby (Limiteds), Tyson Jordan (Street Stocks), Jaxson Moreside (Rookies), Nick Wilson (Mad Bombers), Adam Stearns (Thunder Stocks) and Dale Lawrence (Figure 8s).

Winners from Friday’s Oxford Acceleration Series action included Breeanna Spaulding (Ladies), AJ Smith (Rebels), Skip Tripp (Outlaws), John Childs (Cruisers), Kyle Glover (Sport Trucks) and Ava Gailloux (Jr. Rookies).



The 350 SMAC Super Modified tour visited Wiscasset Speedway on Saturday for a 45-lap feature dubbed the Bentley Warren Classic. Bobby Timmons avoided trouble and pulled away for the victory.

Winners from Wiscasset’s regular Group 1 divisions were Kevin Douglass (Pro Stocks), Richard “Bubba” Pelton (Super Streets), Sylas Ripley (4-Cylinder Pro) and Zach Audet (Thunder 4 Mini).


On a night when Ryan Kuhn picked up his first career Pro All Stars Series victory, Northeast racing legend Ben Rowe missed his first PASS North race in series history.

Kuhn claimed the 150-lap Bay State Summer Classic last Wednesday at Seekonk Speedway in Massachusetts, which is Kuhn’s home track. Dave Darling and Jake Johnson rounded out the podium in what was a big night for Massachusetts drivers.

Before the race began, it was the missing Maine driver that was the big story. Rowe had taken part in each of the more than 300 PASS North feature races that the series has run, but a split with his longtime team had him left out of the midweek race.

Richard Moody Racing posted on its Facebook page on July 16, following Rowe’s last PASS North race at White Mountain Motorsports Park: “After an amazing 17 years together that brought many wins and championships, RMR and Ben Rowe have made the mutual decision to part ways. We wish Ben the best of luck in all future endeavors and want to thank him for all the memories we have made.”

The Turner native won back-to-back Oxford 250s in 2003 and 2004, and has been a mainstay in the crown-jewel event. This year’s race, the 49th running, is scheduled for Sunday, Aug. 28.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.