Members of the Leeds Historical Society plan to walk, talk about and explore several places of historical note in town this fall.

Rain date and times for all the walks are on the next day at the same time. There will be ticks and possible wet areas, so participants should dress appropriately and bring bug spray, according to a news release from the society.

• Saturday, Sept, 17, 1 p.m.: Wing’s Ledge Quarry and Quaker Ridge Farm

Granite from this quarry supplied the building of the Lewiston canals. The quarry is on the property of the old Quaker Ridge Farm, then owned by O.T. Wing. The farm, the post office, the Methodist church, and store all clustered nearby were the anchors to this South Leeds area in the early years.

Park and meet at Cate Waltham’s place at the top of a long, slightly bumpy, half-mile driveway at 105 Ledge Drive.

• Wednesday, Oct. 5, 4 p.m.: Camp Tekakwitha


Camp Tekakwitha was founded in 1938 by the Dominican fathers of Saints Peter and Paul parish in Lewiston. It’s a French speaking summer camp for children 8 to 13 years old located on the shores of Lake Androscoggin in Leeds. Many residents have never toured the property or heard the stories of the place through time. Guy Bourassa, the camp’s director, will be the guide.

Meet at the camp on Bishop Hill Road. Travel approximately a mile and a half to Camp Tekakwitha.

• Saturday, Oct. 15, 1 p.m.: Indian Carry and more

Park at the home of Brenda and Ed Lake at 1497 Route 106 by the Riverbend Campground. Walkers can explore the Indian Carry across the delta of the Dead River which extends into the Androscoggin Lake. Besides that, there will be an opportunity to examine the remnants of White & Son’s sawmill, located in the Lakek’s backyard, and the old railroad road trestle along the Dead River.

For more information, call Laura Juraska at 207-524-2324.


Check out other upcoming area events!

Comments are not available on this story.

filed under: